Using your site license as an administrator

1. Start FCS Express. A login screen will appear.

2. Enter your user name and password. If you are starting FCS Express for the first time, the default username is admin and the default password is password. Please change your password as soon as you can by following the instructions located here.

Administering Site License Users

As the site license administrator, you can add, edit and delete users.

An Online Registration tool is also availble for you to use to allow your users to register for your site license via a website hosted by De Novo Software. Please visit Site LIcense Online Registration Tools for information on how to set up and use these tools at your institution.

To administer users, go to Security->User Administration from the File tab.

The User Administration screen will appear.

Adding a new user

To add a new user, click the Add button on the User Administration screen. The Edit User Information Screen will appear. You can only create as many users as you have purchased as part of your site license.

The top portion of the Edit User Information dialog for User Information will allow you to create specific Login Names, passwords, and specify user information.

The bottom portion of the Edit User Information dialog will allow you to define the Permissions for each individual user.

Enter the user's information. You can choose to make the new user an:

  • Administrator. Users assigned to this group will be able to use the software to analyze data, to add, edit and delete users, to view Security Reports and to edit the Security Configuration.
  • Standard user. Users assigned to this group will only be able to analyze data.
  • User Administrator. Users assigned to this group will only be able to to add, edit and delete users, to view Security Reports and to edit the Security Configuration.

Users may also be added using a .CSV file import. Please see the bottom of the Creating a User page in the FCS Express manual for details on creating and using a .CSV file import to manage site license users.

Deleting a User

Select the User from the User Administration screen and click the Remove button.

Note: if you do not wish to delete the user, but want to prevent them from logging in, edit the user and uncheck the Allow Log In box, shown above. Users that are not allowed to log in do not count against your user limit.

Sending Users Site License Setup Instructions

Send a message to each user containing:

  • a copy of the site license configuration file that you obtained according to the instructions here.
  • and the following URL for our Site License Installation Page: "http://www.denovosoftware.com/site/SiteLicenseInstallation-InstallingAsEndUser.shtml"